A Light Bulb Story

Last night I turned a lamp on and the light bulb was burned out!  This morning, I turned on a ceiling light and noticed a burned out bulb.  As I was looking at it, a second bulb went out….ARGH!  I got out my last package of incandescent bulbs, (which by the way I bought because the package said Double Life), and quickly replaced both bulbs….then it was off to the grocery to look for better light bulbs!

There really is a story here…..wait for it…..

So I’m browsing half an aisle filled with every variety and brand of bulb known to man, from $1.99 for a pack of 4 up to $32.00 for a single bulb!  Oh my…. so I start reading labels.  Every package I picked up said “Long Life” or “Lasts up to 7 Years” and every package had a different number for lumens and watts used.  Could it get any more confusing?  I just want my reading lamp to work and my dining room to be lit!  And I get really tired of changing light bulbs so frequently!    As I continued carefully reading labels, one line kept repeating on every package  in relation to how long I could expect the bulb to last….“based on 3 hours of use per day.”   ( Ah, so there’s the kicker!  If you dare to use it longer than 3 hours per day, it won’t last as long as the BOLD PRINT on the package says it will!

“Deceitful Advertising” I shout to myself!  “Can’t anyone invent a decent light bulb” I wonder to myself.  So I walk out of the store without buying any more bulbs right now.  The little voice in my head said, “maybe the bulbs I just replaced will last longer this time…”  sigh!

So here is where I continue the story….I sell appliances.  Every day people just like me walk into the showroom and tell me that they just want to buy something reliable!  We’ll use a washing machine for our example.  Just as I experienced in the grocery store with half an aisle of choices, the entire front section of our showroom is filled with washers….standard top loading, high efficiency top loading, front loading, small…medium….large, from $399 or less to $1299 or more!  Oh my….and so the process repeats.  A few days ago, I had a guest whose first comment was, “I don’t want brand X….I’ve only had mine for 4 years and it’s already broken!”  As we talked, I discovered that she had 4 children and used the machine daily…sometimes  doing 3 loads in a day!  So here is the appliance kicker…..most advertising concerning how much money you can save using this or that washer is based on 7 loads per week.  (she was doing nearly that much every two days!)  Notice, that does not say how long the machine will last….only how much money you can save in water, detergent, and electricity.

So now we get to the expectation versus reality part of this story!  Our expectations are based on rosy memories.  When we were young  and single, we did one load per week (at the laundromat).  Before we had children, we might have done two to three loads per week….wow, those machines from years ago must have been built a lot better than they are today, because they sure lasted a lot longer!!!  (or so it seemed)

But wait….there’s more!  Now, the same type of machine, with just a few “bells and whistles” added, is being used multiple times per day.  Same number of uses, just compressed in a shorter period of time!

Now I’m thinking about my light bulb problem….and calculate how many hours per day I use that dining room light.  Turns out that it’s on about 14 hours per day….significantly longer than the 3 hours per day stated on the packages!

Could this apply to appliances too?  Yes, absolutely!  Any machine, (or light bulb) put under extreme or heavy use will wear out sooner!

So when you tell me you “just want something reliable,” I might ask you about how the machine will be used.  How many in your family?  How often is it used?  I’m not being nosy, I’m just trying to guide you to the best washing machine to meet the needs of your family!

That’s what I do at A-1 Appliance every day.  My name is Tom Burns, and I sell things essential to life as we know it….  Connect with me at http://www.kimtag.com/nashvillesmarttom

By the way, stop by our Nashville showroom…we’ve converted a large section to LED lighting….we are saving a lot of money, and it looks really great!

Leave a Reply

