Your Blog as "Home Base."

Why do you blog?  There are probably as many answers as there are blogs….and the answers evolve over time.  When I first started writing my blog, it was focused on work related topics.  As I started the new year, I resolved to write every day.  It has become a place where I can write about things that I observed during the day.

How did this happen?  Last year I enjoyed following a friend’s photography posts on facebook.  He called it “Project 365” because he posted a new picture every day for a year.  He inspired me to carry a camera and to be more observant of things around me.  I was amazed that previously, while walking through the woods, I focused on the path….where I was going.  After putting a camera in my hands, I began to notice things around me that I had never seen before…..light, shadows, reflections, the landscape, colors, people, and animals.  I found myself wanting to stop more often to “see” where I was!  

Dscn0168

I think writing a blog can have a similar effect.  I know that at the end of the day, I will have to record my thoughts.  It has made me much more observant of the people around me, the actions, the work, the “why” of what I do all day, and the analysis of things going on around me has been very thought provoking!   I am “seeing” my work from a different perspective.

So why do I refer to my blog as “home base”?  Because “home” is comfortable and safe.  It is a quiet place in my mind where I can connect the dots, find understanding, and organize my thoughts.

Today, I wanted to take this opportunity to encourage you to write every day.  By accepting this challenge, I hope it will open your eyes (and mind) to things you previously missed.  Even if you never hit the “publish” button, write for your own benefit.  

I hope you will try this experiment today.  Put a “virtual camera” in your hand as you go through your day….and “see” what you’ve been missing!

Blogging thoughts by Tom Burns, Seller of things essential to life as we know it….

http://www.kimtag.com/nashvillesmart

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

