Priorities

I’m thinking about priorities again today.  I think about priorities all the time, and my priorities constantly change.  I’m sure that’s true for you too.  What bothers me the most as I observe people is that the “NOW” priority is usually in total control.

That scares me!  It makes people drive too fast, (I’m late for work),  talk on the phone in the car (I have to take this call-now), finish applying makeup and comb hair while looking in the rearview mirror (Darn, I just can’t get up a few minutes earlier to leave for work on time), eat breakfast in the car (see previous excuse). etc., etc. etc.

Images-traffic_jam

The “NOW” priorities fail to put things in perspective.  That’s where we get into trouble.  Minor things take on far too much importance.  We all have 20/20 hindsight. It’s only after the wreck that we realize how unimportant that phone call really was. It’s only after we get the headache and heartburn that we realize it wasn’t worth the agony to get so angry when the cable guy was late getting to our home.

I hope you will give some thought today to your priorities, and realize how quickly they can change.  And how quickly that new priority can take a back seat to the ever-changing new priority.  Maybe we all need a mandatory “period of meditation” each day to put things in perspective.  Kind of like naptime when we were in kindergarten.  Wouldn’t that be fun?

I’m publishing this on a Sunday evening.  Tomorrow is Monday…..what’s your priority?

By Tom Burns, Seller of things essential to life as we know it….

http://www.kimtag.com/nashvillesmart



 

Leave a Reply

