Squeaky Doors and Kids

Do you hate squeaky doors as much as I do?  Every time I hear a squeaky door, I wish I had a can of WD-40 on my belt, right next to my cell phone.  And I think I would use it about as often!

75px-wd-40

Thinking about squeaky doors made me think about other things that get my attention.  Our children are really good at getting our attention.  It starts with a tug at the sleeve, and a question. When there is no response, it escalates to acting-out, followed by a repeat of the question.  Resistance is futile!

A customer complaint is similar to the example above.  It starts with a tug at the sleeve (a phone call), and sometimes we let it escalate to acting-out (substitute “I need to speak to the manager”), and a repeat of the question.  Why do we resist the opportunity to solve a customer problem?

So here is the lesson today.  When something squeaks, we fix it.  We love our chidren, so we listen to them.  And when presented with an opportunity to solve a customer complaint, we reach for a solution.

So, what squeak have you fixed today?

By Tom Burns, Seller of things essential to life as we know it….

http://www.kimtag.com/nashvillesmart

 

Leave a Reply

